HOME > About Us > History

  • JAPANgo
  • KOREAgo
  • Philippines
Society Building

The Chinese Society of Occlusion was built in 1989 and Professor Hui-yun Wang from the Fourth Military Medical University was the chairman of this society.

The Chinese Society of Temporomandibular Disorders was built in 1997 and Professor Xu-chen Ma from Peking University School of Stomatology was the chairman of this society.

In 2002, these two societies were combined into one society that is the Chinese Society of TMD and Occlusion. Professor Xu-chen Ma was elected as the president of the society and Professor Zhen-kang Zhang from Peking University School of Stomatology was invited as honorary president of the society.

The board members of this society are from different specialities including oral surgery, prosthetic dentistry, oral radiology, orthodontics, oral physiology et al.

We have held seven national meetings for TMD and occlusion since the society was established.

The Japanese Society for the Temporomandibular Joint: History and Activities

The Korean Society for Temporomandibular Joint (the "Society") was founded on April 15th 1995. at Inchon Memorial Hall of Korea University. The steering committee at the foundation consisted of Prof. Kwon Jong- Jin from Korea University, Prof. Chung Hoon from the Korean Temporomandibular Research Institute, and Prof. Han Jung-Suk from Ewha Womens University

The Society received approval from the Ministry of Health and Welfare as a foundation on December 26th 2000. It was the first organization to be officially recognized as academic foundation dedicated to the research and education of temporomandibular joints. In 2001, the society began educating dentists on temporomandibular joints under a curriculum officially recognized by the Korean Dental Association. In March 2005, the Society published the professional book, "Systemic Treatment for Temporomandibular Joint." In February 2006, the Society was promoted by the Ministry of Health and Welfare to the Korean Association for Temporamandibular Joint.

The Society holds continuing education workshops for dental professionals twice a year and the assication annual meeting. In addition the official journal is published twice per year.혻 In September 19th 2009, The first Asia Symposium for Temporomandibular Joint was held in Seoul. The first President of the Society was Professor Kwon Jong Jin from Korea University, followed by Professor Chung Hoon from the Korean Temporomandibular Joint Research Institute. Professor Lee Jong Ho from Seoul National University currently serves as the third Chairman of the incorporated association.

The philippine Society for the Temporomandibular Joint: History and Activities

Numerous researches and clinical experiences have referred to the temporomandibular joint (TMJ) as the culprit of a variety of chronic dentofacial pains affecting a lot of Filipinos. Due to the growing number of patients, the TMJ disorder became a public health concern. In response to this, a group of dentists formally founded the PHILIPPINE ASSOCIATION OF FUNCTIONAL JAW ORTHOPEDICS-TEMPOROMANDIBULAR JOINT, INCORPORATED. (PAFJO-TMJ, INC).

The memorable occasion was on December 15, 1998 at the Club Filipino in Greenhills, San Juan, with the then PDA President Dr. Jesus C. Tumaneng as the Guest of Honor. On October 14, 1999, PAFJO-TMJ, Inc acquired a legal personality by virtue of SEC Registration No. A199915939. The common vision of the PAFJO-TMJ, Inc is to disseminate the idea that TMJ disorder is largely preventable and manageable under ordinary dental office set-up.

After a successful defense headed by the founding president, Dr. Rene U. Lasquite, with the support of the Board of Directors, the PDA House of Delegates (HOD) gave the approval and PAFJO-TMJ, Inc. was officially launched as the 22nd Affiliate of the Philippine Dental Association on May 3, 2001.

Quarterly regular meetings and mid-year seminars are held to keep the members up to date with the recent research developments in the industry. Medical disciplines in pain control and management, as well as surgery and alternative practices, are also incorporated in the trainings and seminars.

On its 10th Anniversary in 2011, PAFJO TMJ Inc. signed an “Agreement of Academic Exchanges between Philippine Association of Functional Jaw Orthopedics (PAFJO TMJ Inc.)- TMJ Inc. and Korean Incorporated Association for Temporomandibular Joint” ( KIA for TMJ) at Hyatt Hotel, Seoul, Korea. It was also then that PAFJO TMJ Inc. was acknowledged as the fourth member country of the Asian Academy for Temporomandibular Joint with China, Korea, and Japan. The signing of the Memorandum of Agreement was done on November 18, 2015 during the culmination of the 4th Asian Academic Congress for TMJ which was held in Solaire Hotel and Resorts, Philippines in November 16-18, 2015.